lilCycles vs drip

If auditability is your deciding factor, drip wins and this page will not argue otherwise. drip's source is published on GitLab, it is distributed through F-Droid and as a direct APK as well as the app stores, it states that everything you enter stays on your device, and it implements the symptothermal method. lilCycles is closed source, so you are trusting a published policy rather than reading code. What lilCycles offers instead is Apple Watch and Mac support, Apple Health write-back and strength-training logging.

At a glance

lilCyclesdrip
Open sourceNo, closed sourceYes, published on GitLab
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and MaciOS, Android via Google Play or a direct APK, and F-Droid
Install without a commercial app storeNo, App Store onlyYes, F-Droid or a direct APK
Symptothermal methodNot implementedYes
Where app data livesLocal by default on your deviceEverything you enter stays on your device
Account requiredNot requiredNot required
Strength training, readiness, PRs and injuriesYesNot listed
Apple HealthWrite-only authorization, user initiatedNot listed
PriceFree download. lilCycles Plus is $7.99 USD weekly, $24.99 USD monthly or $249.99 USD yearly as of August 2026.Not stated on the official site.

Every drip entry above is taken from https://dripapp.org/, checked in August 2026. Where that source does not state something, this table says “not stated” rather than guessing.

Where drip is stronger

This is the part most comparison pages leave out. drip beats lilCycles on the following, and if any of them is your deciding factor you should pick drip.

  • Open source. drip's code is published on GitLab, so its privacy claims are auditable by anyone. lilCycles is closed source, so you are trusting a published policy rather than reading the code.
  • Available through F-Droid and as a direct APK, so you can install it without a commercial app store account.
  • Android support, which lilCycles does not have.
  • Explicit support for the symptothermal method, which lilCycles does not implement.

Where lilCycles is different

  • App-only data is kept local by default. There are no accounts, no ads, no analytics or tracking SDKs, and no CloudKit sync.
  • Apple Health authorization is write-only and Health writes are user initiated, so lilCycles writes when you ask rather than reading your Health history.
  • Strength training, readiness, personal records and injuries are logged next to the cycle, which general cycle apps do not do.
  • Optional AI summaries run against an Ollama or OpenAI-compatible endpoint you configure yourself, and you review the exact payload before it is sent.
  • Honest limit: there is no sync of any kind, so your history lives on one device unless you export an encrypted archive.

Not medical care. lilCycles is a wellness logging and planning tool. It is not medical care, diagnosis, treatment, contraception, fertility certification, emergency support, legal advice, clinical decision support, or safety-critical guidance.

Frequently asked questions

Can I verify lilCycles' privacy claims the way I can verify drip's?

No, and that is a real difference. drip publishes its source on GitLab so anyone can read it. lilCycles is closed source, so its privacy claims rest on its published policy and App Store privacy declarations.

Is drip available on iPhone?

Yes. drip lists iOS alongside Android via Google Play, a direct APK, and F-Droid.

Does drip cost anything?

The official site does not state a price, so none is published here.

What is the symptothermal method?

It is a fertility-awareness approach that combines more than one bodily sign. drip is built around it. lilCycles does not implement it.

Is drip actively maintained?

The official site does not state its maintenance status, so this page makes no claim either way. Check the project's GitLab repository before relying on it.

Is lilCycles medical care?

No. It is a wellness logging and planning tool, not medical care, diagnosis, treatment, contraception, fertility certification, emergency support, legal advice, clinical decision support, or safety-critical guidance.

Sources

Facts about drip come from https://dripapp.org/, read in August 2026. Facts about lilCycles come from its App Store metadata published by lilMONSTER. This page names no version numbers, because release candidates in review are not shipped software.

All comparisons · lilCycles